So Far, So Good!

Dear Faithful Praying Family & Friends,

Yesterday AM, I waked up and said, “This is the day that the Lord has made.  I will be glad and rejoice in it.”  Not that I was feeling joyous, you understand, yet I decided to have this attitude of mind.  This morning, I am filled with gratefulness, for all of you who are upholding me in prayer! 

The first session of chemotherapy went very well!  I tolerated the “prep” drugs — 2 oral (steroids, Benadryl) and 2 infused [anti-nausea] — and  the 4 chemotherapy infused drugs.  no allergic reaction, no discomfort, no pain.  I ate breakfast, lunch, and dinner.  Last night, I slept well and woke up this morning feeling normal.  I perhaps am still feeling the “jazzed” effects of steroids yet the Benadryl allowed me to nap during the session.  With permission, I took 2 Benadryl last night before bed. 

I am extremely grateful for “smooth sailing” these first 24 hours.  I am prepared for the next 5 days, in terms of what to expect as my body adjusts to the chemo drugs.  Please continue to pray:  for tolerable short-term side effects and for no debilitating, chronic, long-term side effects. 

Benedictus es, Domine.

Blessed be God, Father, Son, and Holy Spirit, and blessed be His kingdom, now and forever. Amen.

Coram Deo,

Margo

13 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

13 responses to “So Far, So Good!

  1. Carole Stewart

    What a wonderful report Margo! All praise be to our Faithful, Most High God!!
    Please remember that I am only 5 min. away so please, please remember you can call me anytime for anything.

    Carole

    • Dear Carole,

      Your was the first comment of this day and it so encouraged me to read a visible reminder that all of you are in this with me, praying for me. Today was a good day. I felt energetic all day (steroids’ residual effect) and swam 1/2 mile only because I had some GERD at the same time. Ate all three meals but lightly. Hope to sleep well (Benadryl) and have a tolerable day tomorrow!

      Thanks so much for commenting. I will call if I need to. Thanks!

      Coram Deo,
      Margo

  2. Debbie Evans

    Margo….what a faithful trooper you are. You make me laugh and cry at the same time. When I read your entries I feel like I am there with you and I hear you talking to me. It feels really good when I am so far away. I have all my friends praying for you. I loved reading your dedication to your Mom and Dad. I can’t wait to read your next dedication. I love you, Debbie

    • Dear Debbie,

      Thank you so much for the encouraging comments and for your constant prayer! I am glad you enjoyed my Heroes Series #1. I am already finished with #2 & #3 but am waiting for photos from my sisters.

      Good day continued today. Up early, no nap bc of steroids’ residual effect. Swam only 1/2 not usual 1 mile bc I began to struggle with GERD. Came home, had broth & noodles for supper. Ready to go to sleep!

      Thanks again for writing–such an encouragement to my writing my blog!!

      Coram Deo,
      Margo

  3. Kris Bowers

    Praise God!!!! I have been thinking/praying about you non-stop. Your report is such an encouragement. We love you and will continue to lift you up to our Lord throughout this process.

    In Christ,
    Kris

  4. maddy bowers

    Hi aunt Margo,

    I love you and I am praying for you.I know God Loves you to.

    • Dear Maddy,

      Thank you for reading my blog, commenting, and praying for me! Your encouragement means so much to me! Thank you for joining me in this journey. I swam 1/2 mile last night. Still feeling well today!

      Coram Deo,
      Margo

  5. Jessica Heddings

    Margo,
    I am so glad that you are doing a blog! You are such a delight and joy despite your circumstances. I have been wondering how you were doing and now I can check in here and Joshua and I will know how to pray for you. Looking forward to reading about all your heroes too…
    Jessica Heddings

    • Dear Jessica,

      What a joy it is to hear from you! Thank you for reading my blog, for commenting, and for praying! I do hope you will be able to attend Soup Group occassionally. I do so enjoy seeing you in person!
      I am eager, also, to hear how Caleb is doing, at CCA.

      Glad you are enjoying my Heroes Series: next one will be ready before Round 2 — with photos!

      Coram Deo,
      Margo

  6. Sallie Powell

    Margo,
    The news of your illness saddened me and yet, I am deeply encouraged by your optimistic words. You bring such a beauty to suffering that leaves me in awe of God’s goodness. I’m thankful for your blog and the ability to follow you through this inspired journey. I hope as you send out reports you will receive back overwhelming amounts of love and prayer support to help you through the coming months.

    Grace and peace,
    Sallie

    • margopayne

      Dear Sallie,

      It means so much to me for you to read my blog and pray for me, especially since you are much further along in the path of suffering and I respect you so much for your maturity. This past weekend has been very difficult and shows up my weakness. But I rejoice that God is my strength and my refuge! How dependent I am upon Him — and upon the prayers of friends like you. Thank you for walking this journey with me.

      Coram Deo,
      Margo

    • margopayne

      Dear Sallie,

      Thank you for reading my blog, for praying, and for commenting! I am honored and touched by your words because I consider you to be a friend for whom I have great admiration and respect. You have suffered so much and you have borne it with great dignity. Thank you for joining me in this journey. One of the benefits of this “assignment” has been the joy of being re-connected with friends from the past.

      Coram Deo,
      Margo

Leave a Reply

